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]]>We get it, life gets busy and business gets hectic. But you wouldn’t skip on paying a bill so why would you skip on posting to your social media platforms?
Consistency is one of the key factors in running successful social media platforms. The number one thing you hear from successful YouTubers is to be consistent but what does that mean? When we talk about consistency we are not just talking about consistent posting but consistence voice and branding too!
Like building any relationship, being there for someone, being ‘predictable’ is important. It’s much the same when it comes to building a relationship with your audience and customers on social media.
Being ghosted and being spammed doesn’t go well in any relationship! So be consistent, every day post, 3 times a week or even just once a week is so much better than being showered with promotional posts when you’re feeling desperate or need to make that sale.
Find a balance of what works for you and your business both in the busy times and not so busy times. Developing a content schedule or always have evergreen content ready for those stressful weeks is a godsend.
All social media platforms have their own way do doing things when it comes to their algorithms and it changes all the time [way to keep us social media managers on our toes!]. Which makes it tough for us to give you an in-depth understanding of what you should do [feel free to book in a FREE 15 min consultation with Lainey to talk further about your socials here].
A general rule of thumb is – the more you post the more engagement you get which helps to boost your future posts [within reason of course]. How does this work? Well, social media platforms aim to keep their users on their platform as long as possible. They want to show their users content that keeps them engaged and using the app for longer. So the more they intact with your content through clicks, reactions/likes and comments the more likely your content will appear on their newsfeeds.
The type of content you post is so important. You want to share content that is in line with your business, relatable and adds value. When we say you should have consistent content we don’t mean the same content themes over and over again. It is important to post a variety of content, but that variety of content has to be in line with your business. Being a design and Marketing company it makes little sense for us to post about fashion, but if we posted about the changes in fashion on social media it is more in line with what our business does.
For example on Rocket Fuel Design’s Instagram, we follow a grid theme that keeps our content looking consistent but allows us to change it up and keep some variety in what we post.
If your content is all over the place and has nothing to do with your offering you are guaranteed to lose followers because they are not getting what they thought they came for. So stay true to what you do and add value to your audience. If you want to know more about how to find content for your social media platforms checks out our blog – Guide to curating content for your social media.
First, what is a brand voice? A Brand voice is the distinct personality, words, phrases, symbols etc. that you business uses.
For example, at RFD you can expect to see consistency on the way we display our brand name, our acceptable swearing, the emojis and the that we use. Here are some of the examples of our brand voice in our marketing branding guide:
Having a consistent brand voice is important so you know who/what you’re dealing with. If you had grown up with your grandmother your whole life with an English accent and a very ‘proper’ way of speaking and then suddenly she is speaking slang you would feel quite confused, right?
Having your own brand voice guide, auditing yourself and making sure your voice suits your personas and audience is important so you can make sure you’re speaking with consistency and connecting with your audience.
Keep your branding looking similar across all your social media platforms. This doesn’t mean they have to look exactly the same, but similar use of colours, fonts, logos is perfect. We highly suggest adapting to not just the sizing of each individual platform, but to their best practices too. This will help to develop brand recognition, loyalty and trust. Across all our socials and website we use the same styles of colour and logos throughout.
Producing a style guide is a great way to make sure your whole team knows which colours and logos they can use when producing content.
Sometimes, we compare social media to the yellow pages, people often look up your social media page to check if your business is still operating. There are billions of websites out there and a lot of them are owned by inactive businesses. Posting consistently on your socials helps to demonstrate to potential and past clients that you are in fact relevant and in work, not to mention all the great offerings you have that they might have missed on your website.
Consistency is key when doing anything in life – yes we sound like your parents – but it is so true especially with social media platforms. The best way to stay consistent is to plan and strategise your content and branding. At Rocket Fuel Design we have a range of Social Media Workshops to help you come out with real and practical tips and tricks for your social media that you can apply straight away.
So when it comes to having a successful social media presence it pays to regularly post to build relationships and get the best of the algorithms. Keep in mind the content you share, your brand voice and style so that your audience gets the best possible experience with your business online.
Got any questions about your businesses marketing, book a FREE 15-minute No-obligation Consultation with Rocket Fuel Design Founder, Lainey.
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]]>The post Paid verse Organic Social Media Posts appeared first on Rocket Fuel Design.
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Are all the best things in life free? Or does it pay to spend a little to get just a bit more? When it comes to managing a social media page it can be hard to know what exactly is the right move for your brand; go organic or go paid.
In general, social media and inbound marketing are known for their more ‘organic’ approach to marketing. Where a brands offerings or values are not ‘pushed upon an audience’ like outbound marketing, but instead are sought out and consumed but audiences with value-adding or entertaining attributes. But today with an abundance of business on social media sites advertisements have been introduced.
Paid social media include boosted and targeted advertisements, they will show up in users timelines and other placements like Messenger as advertisements or sponsored posts. Paid advertisements not only get your content in front of your follows but allow your brand to reach people who do not follow you too.
Paid influencer marketing a whole other kettle of fish altogether that we will not be going into on this blog – but keep your eyes out!
Organic social media post are not paid for and are essentially ‘free’ to post on social media platforms ( free not counting your time). These posts show up in the feeds of people who have chosen to follow your brand. However, if your followers choice to share, engage or like/react to your post may organically be shown to people would are not your followers.
As the algorithms change and the percentage of followers seeing organic posting is declining it’s getting harder than ever to get your content seen! That’s why paid Social media isn’t all too bad when it comes to
Sorry, no simple answer here!
Overall we highly suggest using a range of organic and paid media when managing your brand social media page. We believe that although great consistent content can attract new audiences, paid marketing just does it so much faster for less effort. So should you pay for every content you post on social media, the short answer is no way!
Use paid social media posts when you are looking for to generate new leads, want to raise brand awareness, promote a deal, or drive conversions. You wouldn’t put just anything on a billboard so be selective and think strategically about the content you chose to push.
Use Organic social media posts to build on creating great connections/relationships with existing followers, provide customer services and build awareness about your brand’s offerings.
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]]>The post 50+ Social Media Terms You Should Know appeared first on Rocket Fuel Design.
]]>Like any other field of work, working in social media comes with a whole set of jargon you need to understand. In alphabetical order here’s our list of social media-related lingo you should know.
A/B testing is used to test the differences between two variants, A and B. Using A/B testing means you can work out what factors get you the best results. For example the time for posting for a food restaurant, A: 12.00 PM B: 11.00 AM which performs the best. From there you can keep testing times against each other until you find the best result.
A process or set of rules to calculate and dispute curated content for users. For example, a social media platform will push content you interact with more often to the top of your newsfeed to keep you engaged for longer.
Your analytics is your stats and data. Analytics are an important part of managing a social media page as it gives you an indication of where your business is going. Unfortunately, your analytics will be displayed in different ways across social platforms, so take your time to understand your analytics and what each stat means.
B2B stands for Business to Business. If you are a business that sells services or products to other businesses you are a B2B marketer. For example, we sell our service of design and social media management to other c, making us a B2B company.
B2C stands form Business to Customer. If your business sells to people in general, for example, you sell day dresses you are a B2C business.
A bio stands for a Biography which details describe facts about a person or business. While biographies in a traditional sense go in-depth about peoples experiences etc. a bio on social media tends to be short facts like education, work, or life events.
A blog is a discussion, journal or information based content on a website. Blogs can be used to improve SEO scores, give audiences information and discuss ideas. For example, this right here is an information-based blog.
A boosted post will optimize your post to increase engagement. When targeting with a boosted Facebook post you have three options; people who like your page, people who like your page and their Facebook friends, or targeted audience of your choice. While you can ‘target’ an audience, the ability to narrow target audiences down is very limited, check out our blog post on why we think you should Stop BoostingYour Facebook Posts.
Canva is an online design platform which has loads of great templates form social media and more.
A chatbot uses software to have an automated online conversation. Chatbots can help replace some human interactions, but we recommend thoroughly testing the user experience before launching.
Clickbait is the act of using misleading/exaggerated headlines or imagery to lurer people to click onto your content [not cool].
When people talk about content in a social media context they don’t mean a sense of happiness or fulfilment. Content refers to the different style of posts you can use from status, images, videos, articles, stories and so forth. If you want to learn more about how to curate content for your social media pages make sure to check out our blog – Guide to Curating Content for Your Social Media
Cost Per Lead [CPL] is the measurement used to show how cost-effective your marketing campaigns are and compare your costs to the number of new leads. Let’s say you are a beauty salon and you spent $100 on advertising, from your advertisement you gained 10 new booking requests then your CPL or cost per lead is $10. From there you can use this information to determine if your advertising was successful.
CTR stands for Click Through Rate which is the ratio of clicks received on your ads per number of impressions.
A Call To Action [CTA] is used to help prompt your audience immediately to do something i.e sign up for a newsletter, call you, get a quote. CTAs can be found in many different forms from copy, on imagery, buttons and more!
Digital Marketing or online marketing refers to marketing components that use the internet and online digital technology to promote products. For example, social media is a digital marketing strategy, computers, mobile phones, emails are also digital marketing.
Dark posts are targeted ads on social media, they target audiences specifically for lead generation and conversion. The [ad] post is not on on the advertiser’s timeline and does not target their current followers, instead, they appear on the feeds of the targeted audiences, normally labelled as sponsored content.
DM stands for Direct Message and PM personal/private message. To DM or PM means that the conversation or content shared can only be seen and accessed by the accounts in the chat.
E-Commerce stands for electronic or internet commerce, a good or service is sold/bought using the internet it is classified as E-Commerce. E-commerce stands for electronic or internet commerce and it is not just limited to B2C it includes C2C, C2B and so forth.
An Emoji is a small digital image or icon often use in text, which helps to express ideas and/or emotions.
Engagement is used to describe interactions on digital platforms such as social media and emails. The main types of engagement measured are clicks, reactions/likes, comments, shares, opens and private messages. These are often used as indicators of success, but we suggest not to get sucked into vanity metrics such as seeking lots of likes on content.
Evergreen content is content that does not become outdated, just like evergreen plants it retains its ‘greenness’/value year-round. Evergreen content can include helpful information about your product/services, quotes, testimonials, Q&A, facts and so forth.
A feed or news feed is the data format used on social media platforms to provide people with frequently updated content.
A Filter on social media, just like a filter on a camera changes the colourisation of images or videos. Some filters even change the way people physically look.
A filter is used to refine and personalise content seen by users through algorithms.
A follower is a person or an account that want to like and want to see your content on their newsfeed.
A GIF stands for Graphical Interchange Format, which is an image format that shows a series of images or soundless video that loops continuously without anyone having to press play. Like memes and emojis, GIFs are often used to express emotions and ideas.
A social media handle is your public username used to represent your account on social media. A handle follows an @ symbol. A handle allows another account to tag, reach out and communicate with you.
A hashtag or # is a tag that allows users to connect content to a specific topic, event, theme or conversation. Hashtags can help improve your posts/accounts discovery/impressions, as when you click or follow a hashtag all social media content with that same hashtag will be shown. Well, not ALL but you get the gist.
Instagram TV [IGTV] allows people to share longer videos on Instagram.
An impression is the number of times your content is displayed in front of a viewer. A viewer doesn’t have to engage with content to be counted as an impression. If your content is displayed on their feed this is counted as an impression.
Inbound marketing is a way of reaching customers through content marketing, for example, social media, blogs, websites and branding. Inbound marketing aims to draw its audience, rather than push it on them [outbound], by providing valuable content and experiences in hope of creating a lead/customer.
An influencer is someone with the potential to affect the purchasing decisions of others—they have influence [Hence the name]. In marketing, we call this an opinion leader.
A Key Performance Indicator [KPI] is used to measure business performance, it is used to evaluate how effectively an objective has been met by a business.
A person who shows an interest in your product/service can be called a lead. A lead is someone/business that could become a potential customer. Leads are then guided down the marketing funnel to try to convert them to be a potential customer.
A marketing funnel is used as a visualisation queue for understanding the process of turning leads into customers. A Marketing Funnel aims to capture as many leads as possible and take them from the top of the funnel to the bottom where they would become a customer.
A meme is a piece of content; image, video, piece of text, etc, that takes becomes viral—usually humorous in nature. This piece of content becomes a fad and is copied and shared rapidly by Internet users.
Organic social media reach/growth that is happening naturally or without paid help.
PPC stands for Pay Per Click, it is a term used when advertising online. This means you [the advertiser] will pay the publisher [Facebook, Google etc.] when the ad your displaying is clicked.
A relevance score is a calculation based on perceived positive and negative feedback an advertiser expects to receive from the ads targeted audience.
Retargeting are advertisements used to remind audiences who have already interacted with your business about your offerings. You know the ones we mean, when you visit a website and all of a sudden you see their ads everywhere! That’s remarketing.
A Return On Investment [ROI] is used to evaluate the results/returns a business receives from their one or more investments. The return on investment is evaluated against its cost, for example, if you spent $100 on advertising and got four sales valued at $75, your ROI on this ad spend would be $200. This doesn’t just have to be a monetary return.
A share or sharing is when another account shares your content to their own profile, to another page or person via messenger, email or twitter, embed to a page etc.
Social Listening is the act of monitoring social media channels for mentions of your business, competitors, product etc.
Social proof is where what you are saying is validated by others. Testimonials/reviews are an example of social proof.
Stories are a collection of images and short videos posted to a social media platform, for example; Facebook, Snapchat or Instagram. Stories disappear after 24 hours unless saved/pinned. Filters, text, gifs and other effects can be added to stories.
To tag or tagging is to engage with another profile; individual or business. You can tag people in videos comments, photos, posts etc.
Target marketing is when marketing and resources are made more specific and aim to reach a specific group of customers. For example, this blog is targeted toward those new to social media.
Traffic refers to the movement of accounts coming to your platform; Facebook, Instagram, website etc.
A trending topic refers to subjects that experience a surge in popularity on a social media platform.
To troll or trolling is the act of deliberately provoking others online [also not cool].
User-Generated Content [UGC] is any content i.e videos, images, reviews etc., created by people, not the brand/business themselves.
Vanity Metrics are stats that might look good on paper but don’t actually help you to achieve your business goals or guide future marketing endeavours. Don’t get caught up in vanity metrics!
Just like a viral infection, going viral on social media means a piece of content or idea spreads or is shared by social media users.
Vlogging stands for video blogging or video log. Normally vlogs are centred around the vloggers daily life or other topics they wish to discuss.
So there you go fifty-plus social media terms you need to know and understand when working with social media! If you are keen to learn more about what you should know when it comes to social media or marketing make sure to check out our blog – 5 things I learnt about marketing that every business owner needs to know.
When it comes to making decisions about your businesses marketing there can be a lot to think about or even options you haven’t thought about. Launch your business into the digital world with a FREE 15-minute no-obligation consultation with Rocket Fuel Design’s founder – Lainey.
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]]>The post Guide to Curating Content for Your Social Media appeared first on Rocket Fuel Design.
]]>When it comes to creating content for your social media, the options are endless. Seriously. There are so many fun, creative and educational ways to interact with your following on Facebook, Instagram, LinkedIn or any other platform you choose.
Today we will explore how to curate content for your socials, unfortunately [and fortunately] every business is so different, and because we are all so unique we have to stick with the basics!
When it comes to social media we have seen too many accounts just repost other people’s content. While this content may get high interactions, you will fail to get your brand across, and what’s the point of being on social media if you get no brand recognition?
Our rule is:
“At least 50% of what you post on social media should be the content you create.​”
Now that doesn’t mean you HAVE to be original all the time, it just means repurposing content to suit or show off your business and your business values.
For example, we love to share quotes that resonate with our audience. We could easily reuse content from the internet, but it wouldn’t have our brand flare, so we recreate the quote to suit our style.
While you may not have the resources or experience with programs like InDesign or Photoshop, as we do, there are loads of great, free or low-cost sites such as Canva that you can use to create fun repurposed content that’s “on-brand”.
Another example of how we make content ‘our own’ is when repurposing newspaper or blog content. Instead of just posting a link and a brief caption we love to make it more unique and interactive. We summarise the article, ask for opinions and create an image that promotes interaction.
Don’t just use your content once. When you put hours of effort into creating content [like to blog] it would be a shame and frankly a waste of time and resources to just post it once on your Facebook and be done with it.
Make sure to [if it’s relevant] to post your valuable content across all your social media platforms.
Just keep in mind every social media site has different sizing and best practices, so make sure to resize and change the look of the content to suit the platform. It may take extra time but it’s so worth it!
Don’t be afraid to repost the same content again either. It’s highly likely that the same people who were your first post won’t see or notice that you have reposted the same idea again. BUT don’t continuously repost the same post and copy time and time again. That is a sure way to lose followers. So refresh that copy and maybe even change the image and use again at a later time. For example, you can do a throwback post!
As we said before, we suggest having at least 50% of your own content on your socials. But this doesn’t mean you have to recreate the wheel! Feel free to repost other people’s content and articles, just give them credit or make it your own. Don’t feel you absolutely have to have different content from your competitors, if it works it works, just listen to your audience and make sure you’re adding value.
For example, we found this great blog article/ infographic from PostBeyond called ‘ The history of Social Media’. We loved it so much and thought you guys would love it too so we decided to repost the infographic [with credit] across all our platforms from our blog, to Pinterest to Twitter!
We have said this before in our blog Customer Reviews – Your Secret Marketing Fuel, but what your customers are saying and posting about you is so IMPORTANT and is an absolute goldmine when it comes to curating content.
This is what we call user-generated content. Testimonials, reviews, images and a whole lot of ideas can come from interacting, listening and reusing your audience’s content.
So don’t be afraid to ask to post their content on your socials, most people are just flattered!
Here’s what we often say when asking to repost peoples content:
“Love your photo [say what you like about it]. We would love to repost this on our socials, with credit of course! We want to show off our [products, customers, town, local shops]”
And here’s the even better thing… You can even repost content that your business isn’t tagged in – just show off your town or the talents in your area! For many businesses who are not ‘insta’ worthy or product-centric this is a great option!
It’s the little and often personal details that work so well on social media, which make sense because there is social in the name, right?
Learn to feel comfortable sharing moments in the day [behind the scenes shots]. Share a post of the team’s coffee catch up, let your audience know what each team member’s day at work looks like, how your business works, share your workplace inside jokes, share your struggles, highlight a team member and why not let your audience decide on some details too!
People love to be in the know and create relationships with brands, and with so many people in the same market, being personal can set you apart.
I’m absolutely guilty of watching 10-minute videos about how a chair was repurposed or watching someone on Photoshop. And apparently I’m not the only one. Why do you think Shaaanox literally gets 100,000 plus views on people watching her declutter makeup. Seriously.
You might think your everyday workday is boring and that no one would want to see it, but you would be surprised, so just try it!
If you’re scared that sharing your inner details or showing people the full process will mean they won’t buy your product and instead do it themselves. DON’T BE. Hey, some might, but most of us are L.A.Z.Y and would rather purchase it than do it ourselves…
We highly suggest creating a calendar filling in the important dates – holidays, birthdays, promotions – and then filling your content plan out from there! And if you are still looking for ideas, save the image above so you can always have something to post about!
As we said at the start of the blog every business is different. So if you want some more information on how to curate content for your business specifically, book in a FREE no-obligation consultation with Lainey here today!
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]]>The post Social Media Image Sizing Guide 2020 appeared first on Rocket Fuel Design.
]]>Some might say size doesn’t matter, but it totally does, especially when it comes to social media images.
The size of your images on your social media can make a huge difference in the performance of your posts. Unfortunately, every social media platform; Facebook, Instagram, LinkedIn, Twitter and Pinterest is a wee bit different!
Sizing images wrong is one of the many common mistakes we see businesses make all the time. If there is one thing that makes us and social media managers all over the world squirm in our seats, it’s incorrectly sized images.
Today we will explore the current ‘correct sizes’ in 2020 for Facebook, Instagram, LinkedIn, Twitter and Pinterest. So here’s what Rocket Fuel Design and the social media sites themselves suggest when sizing your images:
Lucky and unlucky for you, Facebook has a whole range of image sizes. Which allows for a lot of flexibility when posting in the feed, but, requires you to be a bit more precise when it comes to sizing images for your profile picture and cover photo.
Your profile picture on Facebook is one the first things people will see when they search for your business on Facebook, so making sure you display it correctly is super important.
According to Facebook, profile pictures are displayed at:
Don’t forget when your scrolling in your newsfeed your Facebook profile picture appears even smaller again. That’s why we suggest that you use less text-heavy profile pictures and more image-based profile pictures!
Your logo and just your logo is a great way to make sure your business looks smart and identifiable.
Here at Rocket Fuel Design, we don’t include the text – RFD – from our logo in our Facebook profile picture, why? Because on mobile it would be much too hard to see.
With the ‘RFD’ text included, you can hardly read it in any of the profile pictures. Showing the ‘RFD’ in our logo isn’t needed, since where ever our profile picture is, so our business name.
Profile pictures are cropped to a circular shape. Make sure to adjust your logo sizing to fit snuggly into the circle – there is nothing worst that an oversized logo in a profile picture.
As there is a huge variance in the sizes between devices,180 x 180 pixel images will size perfectly in every place a profile is displayed.
A cover photo should be branded and represent your business. They can promote the most important aspect of your organization – your products, services, offers, career opportunities, etc. Make sure to align the theme of your cover photo with your featured Call to Action [CTA] button.
What size should you use for your Facebook cover photo? Well, that’s a tricky one because your Facebook cover displays differently on mobile devices.
Facebook displays cover photos at:
The safe option that we recommend to fit both displays on computers and smartphones is using the dimensions 820 x 360 pixels.
Remember that the end and tops of your images will be cropped depending on where they are being viewed. Display any important information in the safe zone.
Canva has loads of ‘Facebook Cover Temples’ if you don’t already have one.
When it comes to posting on Facebook feeds, Facebook expects all different sized images. Certain sized images are superior in Facebook feeds. Optimizing your images to Facebook’s image size guide will get the most out of your businesses posts.
For Facebook image posts, both 1200 x 900 pixels and 1080 x 1080 pixels work well in the news feed.
Linked Facebook posts need 1200 x 628 pixel images, with event images sized at 1920 x 1080 pixels.
So what about Instagram image sizing?
Instagram is an image-centric application, it is essential to size images correct to optimise the benefits of the social media platform.
The ideal sizing for Instagram profile photos is 180 x 180 pixels.
Make sure that your Instagram profile photo is image-heavy, not text-heavy. Because Instagram is mobile-centric your business profile will hardly ever feature on a large enough screen to see text. If you head to Rocket Fuel Designs Instagram page you will see we have used the same concept as our Facebook profile, as it is super easy to see no matter the size.
Instagram will always post your images at the best possible resolution and it automatically changes the sizing of your images to their supported aspect ratio.
To avoid cutting the most important aspects of your images, make sure to follow the rules from the start.
Sizing options for Instagram posts are:
Stories are a great way to connect with your audience. 1080 x 1920 pixels is the perfect image sizing for Instagram stories and Instagram highlight covers.
To optimise Instagram highlight covers use imagery, not text and display important aspects in the centre in the middle of the page.
LinkedIn has all sorts of funny sizing when it comes to images. Because LinkedIn is a business-focused application, it is super important to have a professional-looking page.
You wouldn’t have terrible sized images on your website so why would you on LinkedIn?
By now we trust you understand that text-heavy profile photos are a no-no.
Seeing that your LinkedIn cover and image sizes are skinny it’s important to ensure that you only have the most important information conveyed via text. So what image sizes are ideal for LinkedIn post images?
And last but not least, Twitter.
Even though Twitter seemingly is all about the talk, research shows that tweets with images get 150% more retweets than tweets without images. So you better get it right!
Here’s what Twitter suggest when it comes to sizing images for profiles, headers and images:
Pinterest is another image-based application and because multiple images displayed all at once, the quality and sizing of your images are so, so important!
It is suggested by Pinterest to ‘pin’ images that are compelling and tell a story, this will increase the likely hood of someone clicking on your post and make them want to learn more. Use images that have context and bring your topic to life, including important text/copy over your images can help to do this.
Your brand should be the focal point, so make sure to include your logo [avoid placing your logo in the lower right corner]!
Something different about Pinterest is that it asks you to think vertical, so pinning a Facebook size image here would look bad and will most likely be cut down to fit in the feed. Pinterest recommends using a 2:3 aspect ratio for pins, so intend to create pins where your image’s width is ⅔ its height.
Here are some example of sizes you can use for your pins:
Square sized images 180 x 180 pixels can also be used, but they may not perform as well. You can also extend the length of your Pins, to make them as tall as you like, but be aware they will be cropped in the feed.
For videos, it is suggested to use either vertical or square sizing. For best results pin video’s that teaches how to do something and that is around 6-15 seconds of length. Instead of relying on audio use text overlays of captions to describe your video as most people scroll through Pinterest without sound on.
And as we have said throughout – don’t go too text-heavy on profile and cover board images. It is important to be able to see text and images clearly on desktop and mobile devices.
Understanding and posting content in all the different social media sites can be a long and tedious task. But it does make a massive difference to the performance of your posts. Hopefully, we have helped you to understand the difference images sizes to the best preform on; Facebook, Instagram, LinkedIn, Twitter and Pinterest.
Keep in mind social media platforms are updating and changing their best practises around images all the time. So make sure to check up on each social media applications recommended sizes often and update your profile, cover and post sizes when they do!
Sometimes when it comes to crucial parts of your businesses social media pages, it’s best to leave it to someone with a good eye.
We would love to help in the process of creating your businesses social media cover designs and more.Let us know below if you found this information useful.
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]]>The post Why You Should Stop Boosting Your Facebook Posts appeared first on Rocket Fuel Design.
]]>Sometimes we just want it easy, but in this case, we suggest you don’t! When you spend any money on advertising you want to see results. Boosting Facebook posts may seem like its creating effect, but they do not create tangible results!
When you boost on Facebook it optimizes the post for more engagement – likes, shares, comments etc.
This is true even if you post a link, rather than enhancing the number of link clicks, a boosted post will still optimize for engagement. Meaning you may see lots of engagement but not many clicks through to your shared link.
When it comes to targeting with a boosted Facebook post you have three options; people who like your page, people who like your page and their Facebook friends, or targeted audience of your choice.
If you don’t already have a high volume of page likes who are your target audience, you will be wasting a proportion of your money.
Most people have hundreds of Facebook friends, making it hard for Facebook to ‘pick out’ who is the most relevant within their list.
And while you can ‘target’ an audience, the ability to narrow target audiences down is very limited. Targeted boosted posts won’t allow you to choose on behaviours or include/exclude your current fans or custom target audiences.
Not only can’t you target down enough, but you will also find you have no real control over the placements of your boosted ads – on desktops or mobiles feeds.
The placement of your advert matters because there are certain things that people prefer to do on desktops rather than mobile. So if your post is asking people to do an action [which they always should] you need to think about what device will get more action.
No matter how you chose to ‘target’ on boosted Facebook posts you are bound to lose money somewhere, as they are just not specific enough.
Just do it better!
Simple, use Facebook Ad Manager instead.
It may take longer to get your head around and build, but you will find that you can target a more relevant audience, create a more suitable campaign objective and have more control over when your ads are seen.
Vanity metrics, as we like to call them, i.e engagement, shouldn’t be the end goal of any campaign. You want your audience to take action, true action, because while a like or comment makes us feel and think we look good it doesn’t move the needle for your business. The end goal is – getting your audience to visit your website, sign up or register [so you can market further] or buy your product/service.
Overall while you may have to take extra steps, you will get the true value out of your money if you use Facebook Ad Manager instead of boosting your posts.
Here are some simple steps on how to use the Facebook Ad Manager to promote your posts.
Once you have the basics of Facebook Ads Manager down you can move into other more sophisticated campaigns AND THAT is where things start to get really exciting!
Creating an advertisement on Facebook is more time consuming, but we believe it is worth it. It is more cost-effective and creates better results.
If Facebook advertisements feel a bit scary to you, we are happy to set them up for your business.
Talk to us today to see how we can help manage your social media.
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]]>The post The Cons of Outsourcing Your Social Media appeared first on Rocket Fuel Design.
]]>There are both pros and cons of outsourcing your business’s social media to a social management company.
Earlier, we discussed the benefits of outsourcing your social media to a social media management company. While it is all well and good pointing out the positives, there are some not so good aspects too.
Being in the game for a while now, we have spent some time compiling a list of the ‘not so great’ aspects of using a social media management company.
Because social media is about being, well, social, it is extremely important to show off the culture of your business. After all, most of the time you are not the only company in your field and you most likely have similar pricing. Showing off your company’s culture and values can go a long way. Good company culture can set your company apart from others and can even entice future employees.
The problem with outsourcing to a social media company is they might not always get it. While we will try our best to showcase the culture and values of your company. We are not living and breathing it.
To truly benefit from having a social media management company it is important to update them with everything. This includes the ‘minor’ details, you never know when they could turn it into something great. Plus, it’s so vital to send lots of pictures of the work you’re doing – imagery is everything. A social media management company can never really show your business culture off in the way that you could if you were an internal employee.
I’m sure I can speak for every social media management company out there; when I say that your company’s social media will only be as good as you let it. Often it can be like swimming in the dark when it comes to producing content for a company that doesn’t let you into their day to day and out of the ordinary moments.
If you manage a social media page already, you would have noticed that the more personal posts get much higher engagement. Without leads to this type of content, a social media company is pretty limited to what they can post.
Majority of the time a social media management company has little to none in-person contact with your company’s customers. Unfortunately, we can’t always encourage them to follow or leave reviews, unless we beckon for reviews online. But the best reviews come when you, the business when you ask for it in person!
For many companies keeping yet another person/company in the know of what your next move, is just another thing on your list. Sometimes it may feel easier just to do it yourself. More emails and more back and forth can seem like an inconvenience.
But remember, these guys are the experts and if you do truly welcome them as if they were another employee [a much cheaper one may I add], then you will see wonderful results.
This could be the biggest con of outsourcing your social media. As I mentioned before, unless the social media management company is properly equipped and kept in the know, it can be hard for them to create personalised content and personalised interactions.
For a social media company, we see value in the little things, like sharing the awesome or not so awesome moment in your employees’ or business week. Unfortunately, because we are not immersed in your business culture we rarely pick up on the ‘gem’ moments. Therefore we fail to share the personal and rare moments on your behalf.
Unless we are told, social media management companies don’t always know who is a close friend, family member or who is a great customer [new or old]. If they aren’t in the know, then, they can’t make personal comments on your business’s behalf. Which is unfortunate because the greatest and main part of social media is to create and maintain great customer relationships.
You may have spotted a common theme throughout this, a social media management company is really only as good as you allow them to be.
In a perfect world, every company would be in charge of their own social media [yes, we did just say that].
While that idea is all well and good in theory, in practice, we know that most businesses don’t have the time, resources or understanding of what is needed to run a successful social media business page.
So if your business is struggling to:
It may be time to investigate outsourcing to a social media company and remember the company can exceed as much as you allow it to!
Let’s navigate that journey together – Contact Us Today!
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]]>The post 8 Benefits of Outsourcing Your Social Media appeared first on Rocket Fuel Design.
]]>To outsource or do it yourself? We have compiled a list of 8 reasons why your business may benefit from outsourcing your social media to a social media management company.
So let’s launch into it…
Outsourcing your social media to a social media management company allows for new fresh ideas, not only for your social media – but other marketing efforts too. Being creative, coming up with new ideas is what we do on the daily, we thrive off it! And because creative marketing is all we do, it means we can fully concentrate on it. This is an unlikely situation for most small/ medium businesses, who simply can’t afford to have a sole person working on marketing. Because we are on the outside but understand your business, we can add new perspectives and ideas to your business, for free! We can help in aiding your companies offering development, as we are constantly performing social media listening, which means we can see trends before you do…
Unlike most small to medium businesses, whose staff are assigned social media among other roles; we are constantly on social media, I mean all day. Which means we can perform social media listening, reply and react to comments and messages throughout the day on your business’s behalf. We act as if we are your full-time marketing manager (but for a fraction of the price and a lot less hassle). Being seen as active and preforming social servicing on social media can be the difference between using your company or not – 55% of customers would pay extra money to guarantee a better service (Defaqto Research).
Just because you use social media personally (and you get loads of likes) doesn’t mean you will have a successful business page. Why? because they work differently! We live and breathe social media, some may even call us the ‘experts’. Because of this, we understand the ins and outs of different social media platforms, how they work differently and what consumers expect on these platforms. Changing different aspects of your business’s social media may take an hour of your team’s time whereas it may take us minutes!
Life often gets away on you when you’re busy. The same happens when a companies workload is bustling, social media is often put on the back burner. I mean who cares about new leads or interacting with your past consumers when you have already got enough work on your plate? But suddenly when it slows down again, and your back on social media, you may find you lose lots of your following or interaction with your posts. Posting sporadically may lead you to fall in the ranking algorithm and your posts may be seen less by your audience. Posting too much can annoy your followers and lead them to unfollow you. That’s why consistency is key! We understand that posting consistency can be hard to keep up with when you’re a busy company and generating content can be difficult. That’s why it’s so beneficial to have a social media management company looking after your socials, their workload isn’t affected by yours and they are contracted to produce a certain amount of posts per week/day. Meaning consistency.
Social media is not what makes your business successful (don’t let anyone tell you it will). It’s your business, culture and product/service offering that makes your business prosperous. Social media, however, is a great way to showcase and support this. Your business’s mission is to provide an exceptional product or service, this should be your main focus. Outsourcing your social media means that you can focus on the core of your business. An electrician’s area of expertise may be producing great electrical offerings, not social media, we certainly can’t go past changing a light bulb. You wouldn’t get us to change the wiring in your house, so why would you expect an electrician to be great at social media? It’s not your skill base, outsourcing means you can focus on your talents while having a presence in the digital world.
For many business owners marketing is extra to their everyday workload, or pawned off to the receptionist. As we said before, managing your social media is often the first thing that goes out the door when you’re busy. Having a social media company means you don’t have to add marketing on top of your long list or pass it on to an amateur. It allows for everyone to be more effective in the role they have been chosen for.
One thing we often notice is that many businesses social media pages just lack good visuals. Visuals are such an important factor in having successful marketing – With 90 per cent of information transmitted to the brain being visual. While some people truly lack the ‘eye’, we believe that the majority of people would pick and create better graphics if they had the opportunity to. Paying for stock image sites and creative suites are often too costly for many small to medium businesses. We have access to better technology and we know our way around them too. Benefit
It’s a well-accepted fact that one of the most costly expenses a business has is its employees, more so if you have a high turnover. If you hire someone to do your marketing for your business, you don’t only factor their wage but also the cost of ACC, Kiwisaver, Fringe Benefit Tax, insurance, recruitment fees, as well as overheads. It is costly to have an employee, full or part time. Outsourcing takes all those costs away, you don’t have to upskill us, nurture us, buy new technology, or pay us sick leave. You simply pay a monthly sum and bypass all the extra admin, you get much more, for much less.
Are you lacking fresh ideas, don’t have the time or the patience to do daily surveillance, are your posts irregular, have you lost track of what truly matters, are you struggling to complete all your tasks or keep up with the new technology?
Maybe its time to consider outsourcing to a social media management company.
Here at Rocket Fuel Design, we work with a whole range of businesses around New Zealand to help connect with their consumers online.
Contact Us Today – let’s launch your socials!
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]]>The post Using Social Media for Customer Service appeared first on Rocket Fuel Design.
]]>As much as social media is about spreading your businesses messages and improving brand awareness, it is also used to provide service and listening, or as we like to call it ‘social-servicing’.
When consumers have a question or problem they look to find a hassle-free way to solve it and social media channels are often the solution.
A study found that 67% of consumers have used a company’s social media site for servicing, compared with 33% for social marketing. This just proves that while you can use your socials to market, it is just as, if not more important to be performing ‘social – servicing’.
Today customer service is no longer done in private and this could be to your advantage. Customer support is a spectator sport where everyone can see how you handle comments both positive and negative.
As much as we would love for our consumers to come to us first when it comes to complaints and reviews, this is not always the case. Why? Well, there is more convenience in commenting on social media or review sites – It’s easy you can do it with one hand, right where you are.
While we may feel as business owners that negative comments are going to destroy us, remember that only 5% of unhappy customers actually write negative comments. That means the other 95% might have just left giving no explanation or room to win them back at all. Identify negative comments, use them to improve and get insights into your business.
Once I even heard someone saying that to get fewer complaints you first must get more complaints… seems crazy and a bit conflicting, right? But the more problems you can straighten out within your business, the fewer problems your consumers will have.
The expected response time on social media is demanding, with 80% of consumers more likely to stay loyal to a brand if they reply instantly. Lucky for most small business Facebook is your main platform, and it is much more forgiving, with 85% of consumers expect an answer to their questions within six hours.
Instant reply times are not achieved for most small businesses, but there are ways around it.
At least twice daily schedule a time to check and reply to comments and message.
You can’t be at your computer 24/7 but there are easy ways to give off-hour responses. If there is a concern on messager, using a bot to reply with a customisable message is an effective way to give off-hour response.
If you haven’t been replying in the past to reviews, do so now – even if it has been a while!
Social media is a spectacular sport, so your comments now (even if they are late) could help future spectator’s decisions.
Just as you have someone in charge of taking the bins out, you need someone to be in charge of social listening.
It is as simple as checking social media and review sites daily and addressing comments.
If there is a negative comment reframe from replying more than twice. The first message should address the issue straight on.
If they do decide to go on a further rampage, you are better off getting them to speak to you in person, DM’s or offline. If you continue to comment it will be counterproductive; as it is a waste of your time and the comment section will get much too negative.
Own it – if it is your mistake, own it and apologise.
Everyone including businesses makes blunders from time to time, realising and addressing this makes your business more human.
If you’re still not convinced in the power of social-servicing check out these crazy stats:
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]]>The post 8 Common Social Media Marketing Mistakes appeared first on Rocket Fuel Design.
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With around 80 million small to a medium-sized business pages on Facebook, there are many business pages to serve as good examples of common social media marketing mistakes.
Your social media presence is an important part of your marketing mix so avoiding tainting your companies name online is critical. We have compiled a list of 8 common social media marketing mistakes made by businesses and how to avoid them.
Most people don’t go overseas without a plan, so why would you jump into your marketing without one either?
Make sure you and your team have a social media marketing strategy. This will help to keep any social media activities thoughtful, relevant and successful.
What should be included your plan?
2. And that’s that
Just posting on social media doesn’t just improve your brand off the bat, or tell you much about the effectiveness of your posts.
Make sure you are reviewing your facebook analytics; who are commenting, liking, sharing, is this better or worst than last week? Why may this be?
Just because it worked once doesn’t mean it will work again, can you do it better? Failing to experiment through A/B testing can reduce your shortcomings and you can miss out on opportunities to expand.
Most social media sites and posting platforms will provide analytics in a simple and clear way, so there really isn’t an excuse.
As a business, you always want to paint your business in a good light, which is good, but it is often done in a way that produces boring, stale, too formal and sales-driven content.
People interact with a business on social media to get to know and mingle with the human side of your business, it really is called social media for a reason.
Don’t just post-sale pitches, stock images or content off your website. Be relatable, share behind the scenes pictures and information, funny and real moments, fails and highs!
Of course, that doesn’t mean you should start swearing and sharing crude jokes, you still need to show the best sides of your business. But perhaps you don’t always need to be wearing a suit and tie and speaking like your meeting the queen in every post.
Only posting self-promotional content is a quick way to lose your following. If your audience wanted to get constantly sold to they would watch TV or listen to the radio, why do you think Netflix and Spotify are so popular!?
Social media can be a great place to create leads and increase sales, but that doesn’t mean that every post has to be a promotional post.
A good method to use the 80/20 rule. 80% value posts, which can be things like evergreen content that gives inspiration and ideas. 20% sales posts, make sure with these posts you are selling the problem you solve – not the product.
You might have thought the empty title was a typo, but it isn’t.
Not replying, interacting or ‘blanking’ your audience decreases the value of your social media presence.
Again it’s called social media for a reason, people engage with you because they want to. So make sure to like, reply and engage in the most human way possible to comments and interaction on your social media pages.
Have you ever been to a page that post article after article with no other variety of content? I have and I can tell you now it was B.O.R.I.N.G, it’s not a page anyone wants to follow.
Yes, you may be adding value by providing useful information, but people follow a company for a variety of reasons.
Make sure you’re providing a range of content from articles, sale pitches, testimonials, facts, behind the scenes and so on. That way you can be sure you are providing a mix of content that will appeal to all your different audience types.
I’m pretty sure you would break up a relationship too if your partner stopped interacting with you for 3 months.
It’s the same with a business, it’s a relationship, not posting anything for months then randomly spamming is a sure way to lose your audience.
Make sure to create a plan and steadily post content throughout the week with the 80/20 rule in mind.
The same goes with posting too much, a study done by Hubspot found that pages with less than 10,000 followers experienced a 50% drop in engagement per post if they posted more than once per day.
How much should you really post? Well, the answer is different for different platforms. At a minimum, we suggest you should post no less than 3 times per week on any given platform.
Stop thinking all social media sites are the same, they are not.
If you are actively reviewing your analytics you may find that a post on facebook and the very same post on Instagram can get considerably different results.
Your followers expect different content, copy and formats dependent on the social media platform. While all social media platforms are about being social they each have varying demographics, behaviours, interests.
While your link to an article may fit perfectly into a facebook feed, links in captions and comments don’t appear on Instagram.
Make sure you know each platform well, what works, what doesn’t and tailor your content to what your viewers expect to see.
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